Current Registration Requirements

Approved Qualifications for Registration

The profession of farriery is regulated in England, Wales and Scotland by the Farriers Registration Council (FRC).

Council’s prescribed course of civilian training for registration purposes under section 7(1)(b) of the Farriers (Registration) Act 1975, is an Advanced Apprenticeship in Farriery, including periods of block release college training, on the job training with an Approved Training Farrier (ATF) and the following mandatory awards:

  • Worshipful Company of Farriers (WCF) Diploma in Farriery (QCF) - known as the DipWCF (Technical Certificate)

  • Diploma in Farriery (Work Based)

How to become a Farrier

Other Recognised Qualifications for Registration

In addition to the WCF Diploma in Farriery (QCF) examination the Farriers Registration Council also recognises certain other qualifications as meeting the standard for registration. The approved qualifications are currently:

  • Worshipful Company of Farriers RSS (Registered Shoeing Smith) pre October 1979
  • The Army Class II, BII, CMF
  • American Farriers Association CJF (Certified Journeyman Farrier*)

* In accordance with the Act, the FRC also requires proof of two years regular and gainful engagement in shoeing horses subsequent to achievement of this qualification prior to registration. 

To apply please contact the offices of the FRC.