Close Close

  1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. About Us
  4. Council
  5. Disciplinary Committee

Disciplinary Committee

The Disciplinary Committee is a statutory Committee set up under section 14 of the Act.

The Disciplinary Committee comprises of a Chairman elected by Council and eight other members of Council, at least one of whom must be a practising farrier, or have been previously actively engaged in farriery for a period of not less than five years. No person who has acted as a member of the Investigating Committee with respect to any one case shall act as a member of the Disciplinary Committee with respect to that case.

The Committee is a properly constituted judicial tribunal applying the same standard of proof as the criminal court i.e. so as to be sure or beyond reasonable doubt. If the Committee find the charges against the Respondent proven it may order his or her name to be removed or suspended from the Register of Farriers.

Current Membership:

Mr C J House BVet Med MRCVS (Chairman)

Lt. Col. M Houghton RA (Deputy Chairman)

Mr J G W Chalmers FCA

Mr D C D'Arcy BSc (Hons) AWCF

Mrs E Earle

Mr P T Gordon DipWCF

Mr M Weston

Mrs J Leggate

Mr K J Willard FWCF


Related documents

Investigating and Disciplinary Committees Constitutional Conventions Document Document type: PDF

06.02.2013 224kb

The purpose of this document is to set out the current conventions of the Farriers Registration Council (FRC) with regard to the constitution of the various Committees.