Close Close

  1. You are here:
  2. Home
  3. Find a Farrier
  4. The Register of Farriers

The Register of Farriers

The Farriers Registration Council (FRC) is a statutory body which was set up in 1975 to, amongst other things, maintain a Register of Farriers and to determine who is qualified to register therein.

Registered Farriers are recognised by the FRC as being qualified either by examination, and/or training and/or experience, to carry out work safely and competently. They are regulated by the FRC and are expected to abide by a Guide to Professional Conduct.

There are about 2,800 Registered Farriers. Some qualified by virtue of their experience before the Acts were brought into force, but most have undertaken an approved apprenticeship and passed the Diploma Examination of the Worshipful Company of Farriers. A few others are registered by virtue of holding an equivalent Army qualification, an equivalent overseas qualification, or recognised European experience, that has been officially approved by the FRC.

Only Registered Farriers, Approved Farriery Apprentices or persons undergoing Council approved courses, Veterinary Surgeons or trainee Veterinary Surgeons working under supervision and persons giving first aid in an emergency situation to a horse may practice farriery legally. For others to do so is a criminal offence which can result in a fine of up to £1,000, legal costs of a similar magnitude and a criminal record.

Registered Details:

The Register of Farriers is a public document and the following information is listed for each registrant:

  • Full name and address for registration purposes
  • Date of admission to the register
  • Particulars of qualification
  • Date of passing said examination
  • Telephone numbers and e-mail addresses are optional

The particulars given on the Find a Farrier’ page are an abbreviated form of the Register and lists of Registered Farriers sorted by post code / location, surname or qualification can be accessed here free of charge. Alternatively, persons may telephone the office to request a list of Registered Farriers in their own post code area free of charge, but a nominal fee will be charged for any additional post code lists. 

Parts of the Register:

The Register is divided into Part 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

Farriers in Parts 1, 2, 4 and 5 may carry out farriery as a business.

Farriers in Part 3 may only carry out farriery on their own and other horses but not for trade or reward.

Farriers in Parts 2, 3 and 4 do not hold formal qualifications but have been registered on the basis of their experience and or training prior to the Act coming into force. New entry to Parts 2, 3 and 4 has not been permitted since 1 January 2000 for England, Wales and Scotland and 30 March 2007 for the Highland Region and Islands of Scotland.

Persons listed in Part 5 are farriers established in other areas of the EEA who are entitled to provide a temporary and occasional service within Great Britain under the terms of EC Directive 2005/36 concerning the Mutual Recognition of Professional Qualifications. Their registration status must be renewed on an annual basis.